Book Review: The Escape by C L Taylor #TheEscape

Publisher:  Avon Books UK (Harper Collins)

Publication date:  23rd March 2017

the-escape-my-review

the-escape-by-c-l-taylor-coverFirst thing you need to know is: once you start reading there is no escape from The Escape. The exhilarating pace and escalating terror is an excellent motivator for extreme reactions with unpredictable consequences. Its fiendish plot is nothing short of addictive, as it seizes every opportunity to uncover murky secrets, painful memories and a fresh menace at every turn.

Imagine the struggle of trying to recover from your worst nightmare only for it to be replaced with a more hellish one. Take Jo Blackmore, who is juggling most aspects of her life semi-efficiently just like the rest of us. Yet she has the added hindrance of agoraphobia to stop her in her tracks, leaving her exposed and vulnerable at the most appalling intervals.

And what do we all know about offering lifts to strangers? *Tuts* Well, it could be the catalyst for wrecking your entire world. Manipulative people will do anything to get you to let your guard down and Jo finds out that out the hard way when she is slapped by an emotional ambush which threatens her daughter’s safety. The surprise warning is shortly followed by a stinging examination of her parental skills and the probability that her marriage may not withstand the force of the unrelenting onslaught.

Jo is clueless as to what this stranger wants or how to stop someone planting further life bombs. The frustration radiates from every page as there is nowhere left to turn and all she knows is she must protect the only thing that remains precious to her. What would your first instinct be? You might like to think you’d try to work it out, defend yourself, reason with the authorities as the truth is on your side. But these circumstances are quite extraordinary, and I was buzzing with adrenaline waiting for the next ruthless wave to hit followed by Jo’s erratic behaviour with little time for recovery.

CL Taylor is a maestro of domestic malice and The Escape is without doubt her finest. With the perfect blend of a traumatic incidents, marital disharmony, and people willing to take full advantage of the situation, this book possesses some serious brilliance that will take some beating. It pushes its characters not just to the edge but beyond it, and I had no choice but to follow.

VERY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! LOVED IT!

Rating:  5/5

(I received a copy of this book from the publisher with my thanks, and it is my pleasure to provide an unbiased review.)

the-escape-by-cl-taylor-book

the-escape-book-summary

(Courtesy of Amazon UK)

Praise for C.L. Taylor:

‘A gripping and disturbing psychological thriller’ Clare Mackintosh

‘Absorbing and disturbing’ Alex Marwood

‘Loved it’ Fiona Barton

‘Claustrophobic, tense and thrilling’ Elizabeth Haynes

“Look after your daughter’s things. And your daughter…”

When a stranger asks Jo Blackmore for a lift she says yes, then swiftly wishes she hadn’t.

The stranger knows Jo’s name, she knows her husband Max and she’s got a glove belonging to Jo’s two year old daughter Elise.

What begins with a subtle threat swiftly turns into a nightmare as the police, social services and even Jo’s own husband turn against her.

No one believes that Elise is in danger. But Jo knows there’s only one way to keep her child safe – RUN.

The Sunday Times bestseller returns with her biggest and best book yet. The perfect read for fans of Paula Hawkins and Clare Mackintosh.

BUY THE BOOK

the-escape-author-profile

(Courtesy of Amazon UK)

CL Taylor lives in Bristol with her partner and young son. She studied for a degree in Psychology at the University of Northumbria, Newcastle and has worked as a sales administrator, web developer, instructional designer and as the manager of a distance learning team at a London university. She now writes full time.

CL Taylor’s first psychological thriller THE ACCIDENT was one of the top ten bestselling debut novels of 2014 according to The Bookseller. Her second and third novels, THE LIE and THE MISSING, were Sunday Times Bestsellers and #1 Amazon Kindle chart bestsellers. Her fourth psychological thriller, THE ESCAPE, will be published on 23 March 2017. She is currently writing her first young adult thriller, THE TREATMENT, which will be published in September 2017.

Sign up to join the CL Taylor Book Club for access to news, updates and information that isn’t available on the web, as well as exclusive newsletter-only competitions and giveaways and the books that CL Taylor thinks will be the next big thing: http://www.callytaylor.co.uk/cltaylorbookclub.html

TWITTER   |   FACEBOOK   |   WEBSITE

Here are my reviews for this author’s previous books:

The Lie 

The Missing

Advertisements

14 thoughts on “Book Review: The Escape by C L Taylor #TheEscape

  1. I can’t believe I haven’t read anything from the author yet, but this title in particular sounds perfect. I wonder if I should start from the beginning or grab this one! Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s