Book Review: Behind Her Eyes, by Sarah Pinborough #BlogTour #WTFthatending

Publisher:  Harper Collins UK

Publication date:  26th January 2017

Welcome to today’s stop on the Blog Tour for Behind Her Eyes by Sarah Pinborough!

I’m already familiar with the cracking storytelling of this talented author after reading the brilliance that is Mayhem and Murder, but I hadn’t quite braced myself to be so utterly gobsmacked by the #WTFthatending of her new psychological thriller. 

Heck, I read this back in November and I’m still not over it…

behind-her-eyes-my-review

behind-her-eyes-by-sarah-pinborough-coverThe publisher’s hashtag #WTFthatending is the most terrific lure. Damn, what can I say. I was curious and couldn’t resist!

My verdict? 

A tremendous example of the perfectly crafted crescendo!

Yes. Perception has left the building, trust is hot on its heels, and happiness is a brief yet complicated affair. But it’s what comes after the patiently crafted, brooding calamity that will make you mentally retreat before re-reading that ending to ensure you understood correctly the first time.

Behind Your Eyes is slow thawing mystery, its drip, drip, drip of information doesn’t volunteer much at all. As our three main characters stumble into each other’s lives and we sift through their shifting relationships with each other, it become tricky to determine who the wronged party, who is afraid, misguided, good at keeping secrets, or who is practised at getting what they want, whatever the cost.

Their story takes a triangle of obsession, stirs in a generous helping of manipulation, then relentlessly simmers until the characters are so disorientated the heat is cranked up without anyone noticing, and all we can do is watch them burn.

So, be prepared (be very prepared) for your opinions to be wrung out between the unassuming headings marked Adele, Louise, then, and now.

There’s so much more I’m bursting to say, but I have kept this review deliberately vague as I feel it is too easy to reveal more than I should! Just let me wrap this up by saying it’s well worth a look if you get the chance.

Rating:  4/5

(I received a copy of this title from the publisher, Harper Fiction / Fiction Pub Team, via NetGalley with my thanks and this is my unbiased review.)

behind-her-eyes-book-summary

(Courtesy of Amazon UK)

Don’t Trust This Book

Don’t Trust These People

Don’t Trust Yourself

And whatever you do, DON’T give away that ending…

‘Sarah Pinborough is about to become your new obsession’ Harlan Coben

Louise

Since her husband walked out, Louise has made her son her world, supporting them both with her part-time job. But all that changes when she meets…

David

Young, successful and charming – Louise cannot believe a man like him would look at her twice let alone be attracted to her. But that all comes to a grinding halt when she meets his wife…

Adele

Beautiful, elegant and sweet – Louise’s new friend seems perfect in every way. As she becomes obsessed by this flawless couple, entangled in the intricate web of their marriage, they each, in turn, reach out to her.

But only when she gets to know them both does she begin to see the cracks… Is David really is the man she thought she knew and is Adele as vulnerable as she appears? Just what terrible secrets are they both hiding and how far will they go to keep them?

‘Fully realised characters, peerless writing, a tank of a plot that sustains the suspense right to the end, and a whammy of a finale. It takes a lot to catch me out, but this one did. It’ll get you too…’ Joanne Harris

BUY THE BOOK

behind-her-eyes-author-profile

(Courtesy of Amazon UK. Photograph Courtesy of Publisher.)

sarah-pinborough-author-photo

Sarah Pinborough is a critically acclaimed, award-winning, adult and YA author. She is also a screenwriter who has written for the BBC and has several original television projects in development.

Her next novel, Behind Her Eyes, coming for HarperFiction in the UK and Flatiron in the US (January 2017) has sold in nearly 20 territories worldwide and is a dark thriller about relationships with a kicker of a twist.

TWITTER   |   GOODREADS   |   WEBSITE

You can join the other stops on the Behind Her Eyes blog tour here…

behind-her-eyes-blog-tour-banner-final

10 thoughts on “Book Review: Behind Her Eyes, by Sarah Pinborough #BlogTour #WTFthatending

  1. Great post, I particularly like the inclusion of the author profile, nice idea. I just read and reviewed this on my blog recently! The ending sort of made me want to go back and re-read the whole book from that perspective!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you 🙂 It’s one of my shorter reviews as I was afraid I’d reveal too much! The ending definitely made me think about all the little clues I had missed along the way. Let me pop over to your blog to check out your review in a just a mo…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

