Book Review: The Secret Life of #LucyLovecake, by Pippa James #BlogTour @Pippajames7 @bwpublishing

I’m over the moon to be opening the blog tour for this fresh and delightfully flirtatious comedy about The Secret Life of Lucy Lovecake. It’s a truly wonderful read that will leave you beaming from ear-to-ear…

Publisher: Black and White Publishing

Publication date:  19th January 2017

lovecake-my-review

lucy-lovecake-cover-onlyThat delicious cover is just the icing on the cake for the incredible feel good vibe that fizzes throughout The Secret Life of Lucy Lovecake. Its flirtatious charm tells the tale of the highs, lows and romantic woes of a budding debut author, Daisy Delaney – and what a little cracker of a book this is!

Daisy, a country girl at heart masquerading as a city dweller, has a chance encounter with infamous TV personality and author, French chef Michel Amiel. He leaves a lasting impression on most people – he certainly did on me! This arrogant man-diva is used to getting his own way and does not like competition in any aspect of his life, particularly when it comes to being knocked off his cookery career pedestal.

The idea of any relationship between the two of them seems as appealing as finding a toenail in your soup, yet something inexplicably intriguing lies behind his rudeness, frequent public outbursts, and his insistence to casually bump into vintage lingerie sales assistant and amateur baker, Daisy.

Although she is bursting to squeal about the publishing deal she’s been offered for her contemporary baking/dating book, her has to kerb her enthusiasm. The true identity of the author must be concealed until the social media frenzy for her book, French Fancy by ‘Lucy Lovecake’, has been whisked up.

The mystique actually works as it sees book sales rise higher than the perfect soufflé, while her personal life is becomes more delicate than a crumbling meringue. All the secrecy places a terrific strain on her relationships as unavoidable situations created by Daisy’s manufactured world spill over into reality creating a recipe for disaster. This leads to the quick fire bakery joviality with continual run-ins with the grouchiest chef in town – man-diva is not a happy bunny as this ‘mystery author’ leaves his own efforts trailing some way behind.

Balancing the necessary ingredients for Daisy’s successful book launch dream against the essential ones for maintaining a happy, contented life involves a succession of little white lies (and a few unrehearsed whoppers!). The unwavering constants are her gorgeous choice of outfits for public appearances, her splendid flatmate friends and not forgetting the ever sulking Monsieur Amiel, of course!

The Secret Life of Lucy Lovecake is fresh and radiant and brimming with a wonderful optimism inviting you to devour Daisy’s story in one sitting, which is exactly what I did during the most perfectly escapist afternoon. Embracing opportunities, sharing your good fortune and taking charge of your own destiny are all part of the Lucy Lovecake experience, as are the unexpected learning curves of life and love.

Rating: 5/5

(I received a copy of this surprising gem of a title from the publisher and Janne Moller with my thanks, for which I am delighted to provide this unbiased review.)

lucylovecakecoverreveal-small

lovecake-book-summary

(Courtesy of Publisher’s Press Release)

Daisy Delaney’s life is pancake-flat. A passionate baker and talented lingerie specialist, she has wound up with no one to bake for and a career that hasn’t proved successful. All she wants is to find her happily-ever-after, but navigating her way through professional and romantic life is surprisingly difficult. But when she starts a delicious relationship with famous French author-chef, Michel Amiel, everything begins to look a bit more exciting.

That is, until Michel’s bestselling cookbook is knocked of the top spot by newcomer ‘Lucy Lovecake’. His out-date receipes slide down the charts while the popularity of Lucy Lovecake’s new dating cookbook is rising like the perfect sponge. But all of Daisy’s Christmases seem to have come at once, as the mysterious Miss Lovecake is no other than Daisy herself.

As Daisy teeters on the brink of love, how can she ever tell Michel that she is the mysterious Lucy Lovecake? Does she even want to be with a difficult, egotistical, down-on-his-luck Frenchman just as her career is beginning to take off? Now that her years of hard work are paying off, Daisy begins to wonder whether she really needs a prince after all. Perhaps it’s all about time she took control over her own happy ending?

Filled with romance, baking and lingerie, The Secret Life of Lucy Lovecake is truly a laugh out loud romantic comedy for the 21st Century.

BUY THE BOOK

lovecake-author-profile

(Courtesy of Publisher’s Press Release)

2017 Spring-Summer.inddPippa James is a full-time writer with a love for food, fashion and all things French. She is best known as Janey Louise Jones, author of the fantastically successful Princess Poppy series, with sales of over 4 million copies to date. Before Princess Poppy took over her life, Pippa James had always intended to write contemporary fiction and this debut novel is the start of a brand-new series, perfect for fans of Jojo Moyles and Sophie Kinsella.

TWITTER   |   PUBLISHER’S WEBSITE

THE BLOG TOUR FOR THIS TERRIFIC BOOK CONTINUES WITH THESE LOVELY PEEPS…

Thanks so much for stopping by  😀

blogtourlovecakebanner-revised

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s