Blog Tour Book Review: Melody Bittersweet and the Girls’ Ghostbusting Agency (Chapelwick Mysteries #1), by Kitty French

Publisher: Bookouture

Publication date: 14th July 2016

Please note: Sincere this review was published this title has been updated and renamed The Skeletons of Scarborough House and it’s cover has had a makeover too!

My Review - Kitty French

Melody Bittersweet CoverMelody Bittersweet and the Girls’ Ghostbusting Agency is an absolute scream from start to finish!

The Bittersweet’s of Chapelwick possess the all the qualifications necessary to cater for the deceased and their relatives, except they are not undertakers. When a Bittersweet says, “I see dead people,” they’re not joking, as this is just another family trait like someone having hazel eyes, blonde hair, or the ability to casually chat to visiting spirits.

But Melody has other ideas. Time is ticking on and her life desperately needs a change of direction. Not a great move while she’s still delirious from her man-drought after her ex dumped her in exchange for a TV career Derek Acorah would be envious of, and her major redeeming feature, apart from stunning selection of retorts, is a gift that freaks most people out. There’s only one thing for it: launch herself at the most random thought she’s had all day: set up a house clearance business – Welcome to The Girls’ Ghostbusting Agency.

She may regret taking the call offering their first case. At the scene of the haunting she bumps into her gloating charismatic ex (now sporting a dramatic cape and surgically attached entourage). Compared with her Captain America T Shirt and converse trainers, he’s doing a great impression of the phantom of the opera and she’s permanently ready for extreme dress-down Friday. Worse still, the sitting tenants are refusing to walk into the light or even entertain negotiations, preferring to keep the house hostage until their demands are met.

Let the Leo Dark and Melody Bittersweet face-off begin – and may the best ghostbuster vs the Scarborough brothers win. The trio of siblings harbour resentment toward each other for two reasons: 1) For providing the same tiresome company for decades and 2) There’s a delicate issue surrounding one of their deaths, causing accusations against the other two to fly around like the books from the shelves. Their antics are priceless, particularly after being reduced to watching the Disney channel to pass the time and unexpected phrases slip out from time to time! Prepare yourself for a stream of hilarious banter, as their swift exit doesn’t go as planned.

The Scarboroughs’ behaviour won’t faze feisty Melody – she wasn’t at the back the queue when challenging character traits where handed out, yet her technique is nothing like the bailiff method you would expect from her. Assisted by her Sicilian BFF when required, and a young man who turns every shade of beetroot at their uncensored topics of conversation, not forgetting a one eared pug by the name of Lestat, she tries to stay one step ahead of the opposition and sensitively solve a historical mystery. A little snooping here, the patience of a saint there, and plenty of mingling with the ungrateful dead will reveal that more than just their lives were lost.

While Leo Dark and his groupies threaten to disrupt her investigation, their nemesis is heading a campaign to discredit the psychics of Chapelwick. But even his peculiar brand of ‘charm’ has become strangely alluring (it’s just probably the man-drought).

This book is a blast. Should you ever find yourself in dire need of cheering up, this will do the trick – guaranteed! IT’S FUN, IT’S FRISKY and IT’S FABULOUS! I’m already little ‘cray cray’ for the next case. CAN. NOT. WAIT. !!!

Rating: 5/5

(My thanks to Kim Nash for organising the tour for which I received a digital copy of this title from Bookouture via NetGalley in exchange for an unbiased review. )

Book Summary - Kitty French

An absolutely hilarious, totally entertaining, spookily sexy read that you won’t be able to put down!

Life’s tricky for Melody Bittersweet. She’s single, she’s addicted to sugar and super heroes, her family are officially bonkers and … she sees dead people. Is it any wonder no-one’s swiping right on Tinder?

Waking up lonely on her twenty-seventh birthday, Melody finally snaps. She can’t carry on basing all of her life decisions on the advice of her magic 8 ball; things have got to change.

Fast forward two months, and she’s now the proud proprietor of her very own ghostbusting agency – kind of like in the movies but without the dodgy white jumpsuits. She’s also flirting with her ex Leo Dark, fraternising with her sexy enemy in alleyways, and she’s somehow ended up with a pug called Lestat.

Life just went from dull to dynamite and it’s showing no sign of slowing up anytime soon. Melody’s been hired to clear Scarborough House of its incumbent ghosts, there’s the small matter of a murder to solve, and then there are the two very handsome, totally inappropriate men hoping to distract her from the job…

Welcome to Chapelwick, home of the brand new and hilarious Girls Ghostbusting Agency series, where things really do go bump in the night.

This is the PERFECT choice for fans of Marian Keyes, Sophie Kinsella or Lindsey Kelk, with an extra helping of hauntings and hilarity!

BUY THE BOOK

Author Profile - Kitty French

(Courtesy of Amazon UK. Photography courtesy of publisher.)

Kitty French PhotographUSA Today best selling author Kitty French writes sexy, escapist romance hot enough to burn your fingers…

The USA Today best selling Lucien Knight series has been a hit around the world, and Kitty is now writing and releasing the Regular Sex series of half hour erotic reads, a weekly issue to make sure your weekend starts with a bang!

SIGN UP FOR KITTY’S NEWSLETTER for all the gossip and release information by emailing on kittyfrenchwriter@me.com

Kitty is also the disreputable alter-ego of a romantic comedy writer Kat French. She writes full time, and lives in England with her husband and two little boys.

TWITTER   |   FACEBOOK   |   WEBSITE

NEXT BLOG STOP…

You can catch up with the other blogs taking part in the Kitty French blog tour here:

Kitty French Blog Banner

Thanks so much for stopping by!

Wendy sig

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s