Book Review: Kitty’s Countryside Dream, by Christie Barlow

Publisher:  Bookouture   |   Publication date:  25th February 2016

Take a moment. Go on. Just look at that cover, isn’t it wonderful? All that inviting gorgeousness on the outside is only the beginning. Just wait ’til you step inside…

Kittys Countryside Dream My ReviewKittys Countryside Dream by Christine Barlow

Kitty’s Countryside Dream is a soul-boosting necessity. I have a suspicion it’s been sprinkled with a little bit of magic, as on the darkest days it’ll warm your cockles and make everything seem right with the world. And I don’t say that lightly – this is not my usual genre of book, but my mood went from grumpy to carefree in nought to sixty (pages that is!).

Life’s not been too kind to Kitty Lewis. She lost her dad when she was young and her mum recently passed away after a long illness and Kitty nursed her until the end.

Ideally she could do with a break. She’s still grieving but needs to try and move on, look for a job, heck, discovering a social life would be a start, when out of the blue our gal in the title unexpectedly inherits a chicken farm. Yes, a chicken farm!

It’s a new start, alright. But she knows as much about chickens as she does about her grandmother – a well respected, but private lady, and a relative she never knew she had.

Kitty’s apprehension to practical poultry is tackled, courtesy of Tom ‘nice on the eye’ Drew, a neighbour and her grandmother’s farm manager. Their initial introductions are met with Kitty generally falling over and planting her rear in the mud, and Tom subsequently smirking while rescuing her.

As Kitty settles into country life with all its farm yard antics on offer, she is determined to discover more about her mystery benefactor. When routinely sorting out the office, the diary of a young woman called Violet comes to light and poses more questions than answers. Kitty might muck in and get her hands dirty, but she’s edging closer to a broken heart. With the help of her characterful friends and a little detective work they try to uncover the past, but it’s a history Kitty could never prepare for.

Expect humorous learning curves, romantic confusion, and the highs and lows of life when secrets that may have died with her parents begin to bubble to the surface. So, get those wellies on and head for a new roost in the country in this delicious feel-good tale with a gorgeous soft centre – this book shows that adapting to a new life is ever easy, but if you’re willing to embrace it then anything is possible.

Rating: 4/5

(My thanks, as always, to Team Bookouture for arranging a digital copy of this book for review.)

Say hello to Snowflake, one of my nephew’s favourite Silkie chooks (one of the breeds mentioned in the book). THEY’RE SO FLUFFYYYY!!!

Kittys Countryside Dream Book Summary

(Courtesy of Amazon UK)

New home. New Life. New beginning. Love affairs can blossom in the most unlikely places…

When Kitty inherits Bluebell Lodge from her grandmother, a farm in the beautiful Staffordshire countryside, it’s time for fresh air and a fresh start. Up to her elbows in chickens and ponies, Kitty soon realises there’s an awful lot to learn about farming. Still, at least the locals seem friendly, not least her handsome neighbour Tom…

But just as Kitty is beginning to find her feet, and the possibility of love, the discovery of a long-hidden diary, by a mysterious character called Violet changes everything. Who is Violet and what is her message for Kitty? As Kitty fills in the lost pieces of her family jigsaw and discovers some shocking revelations, will her countryside dream and blossoming relationship fall to pieces? When it comes to life in the country, nothing is ever quite as it seems …

A heart warming, moving and funny tale, perfect for fans of Trisha Ashley and Cathy Bramley.

BUY THE BOOK

Kittys Countryside Dream Author Bio

(Bio Courtesy of Amazon UK / Author photograph courtesy of publisher)

Christie Barlow Profile

Christie Barlow is the author of A Year in the Life of a Playground Mother, The Misadventures of a Playground Mother and Kitty’s Countryside Dream. She lives in Staffordshire with her husband, four kids, horses, chickens and a mad cocker spaniel.

Her writing career came as somewhat a surprise when she decided to write a book to teach her children a valuable life lesson and show them that they are capable of achieving their dreams. She is a Mum who wrote a book to prove to her children whatever you want to do in life go for it. The book she wrote to prove a point is now an Amazon #1 bestseller in the UK and USA.

Christie loves to hear from her readers…

CONNECT WITH THE AUTHOR:

TWITTER   |   FACEBOOK   |   WEBSITE

Advertisements

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Kitty’s Countryside Dream, by Christie Barlow

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s